top of page
  • boardgameking

Connect 4 - Review!

Updated: Jul 9, 2021


How do you start with connect 4 other than it is one of the best games out there! You probably think I am taking the piss but I actually love this game and in this review I am going to explain why.

 

What ya get?


In this box you get everything you could wish for, you connect the rule leaflet because it is connect 4, you get the playing field as we shall call it and then of course the right amount of pieces in each colour to fill the playing field.


Now I am annoyed that the new connect 4 no longer comes with a tray for the pieces and you do not get any spare pieces! I mean come on Hasbro you are filthy rich give us some spare and put the tray back!

 

How to set the game up?

Do you need my help with this? Sorry, are you that stupid? Of course, I am taking the mess and you might need help setting it up!


Step one put the feet into the main playing field and make sure the bottom catch is in place to hold the game chips in.

Step two is to give each player the colour chips they will be using.


That's it, now I tend to put the playing area in the box so that when I release the chips after a game they stay in the box and do not go everywhere. Why? Because the cheap motherf***ers no longer give you a tray that did this job! Pfffftttt

 

How to play

On your turn you do the following;

Pick up a chip of your colour

Put the chip into the playing field into the column you wish

Then let the other player know you have taken your turn by yelling "FLIPPINGFLOOTOYOU" < this is super important.


It is connect 4 I am unsure how to tell you how to play without sounding like an idiot. Have a go and then the next player has a go until someone connects 4 chips in a line. It is that easy... or is it that easy really? Keep reading to find out.

 

Final Thoughts

Earlier on I told you that I love this game and that is true, it is one of my all-time favourite games and people always assume I am taking the piss when I say this but I kid you not.


Why do I love this game? It is a simple game on the outside but there is a lot more to this than meets the eye. No, it is not a transformer but it is a game of strategic placement to win.


I play this game so much I have terms for moves I am performing we have the bait, switch and bait, downtown abbey, crisscross, the old switcharoo and probably more that I can not think of right now.


Connect 4 to me is not just a game it is a game that I take more serious than chess. If you step into my connect 4 arena there will be no mercy for you! I will beat you over and over again with my chips until you are begging me to stop and guess what? I will not stop I will keep coming at you over and over!


People see this game and think oh I like this game it is fun, you just put chips down until you make a line. Well not to me, this is a game where I will think about every chip I place and what I think you are trying to do and how I can stop you before you even know what is going on.


CONNECT 4 IS A WAY OF LIFE


Also picking red seems to help me win!


10/10 this is the perfect game for me


Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page